The Paraguayan Association of Professionals Graduated in the U.S.A. (APPG), is a non-profit organization comprised of more than 180 graduates of U.S. universities. Members include alumni from universities across the U.S. with a wide range of academic backgrounds.

Executive Committee 2015 - 2016

President                            Ing. Henry Moriya

Vice President                   Lic. Jazmín Ramírez

Secretary                            Lic. Antonio Brítez

Alternate Secretary         Arq. Mirtha Ramírez

Treasurer                            Ing. Roberto Stewart

First Member                     Lic. Rejane Theobald

Second Member                Lic. Gustavo Mora Meilicke

Trustee                                Lic. César Cardozo D.

Alternate Trustee             Lic. María Irene Wasmosy

Permanent Member         Sra. Melissa McDonald

Permanent Member         Sra. Kathleen M. Guerra

Past PresidentS

1993 - 1995     Dr. Arnaldo Acosta

1995 - 1997     Lic. Antonio Britez

1997 - 1999     Ing. Nils Gustafson

1999 - 2001     Ing. Henry Moriya

2001 - 2003     Dr. Gustavo Diaz Gill

2003 - 2005     Dra. Gladys Benegas

2005 - 2006     Ing. Santiago Mandelburguer

2006 - 2007     Dra. Patricia Marchewka

2007 - 2009     Lic. Antonio Britez

2009 - 2011     Arq. Mirtha Ramírez

2011 - 2013     Lic. Gustavo Mora

2013 - 2015     Lic. Claudia Villalba

2015-2017       Lic. César Cardozo D.

History and Mission

APPG is an association of Paraguayan professionals and foreign residents in the country, and who have graduated in the U.S.A. 

The idea to found an Association of professionals who graduated in the United States was born in October 1993 when the American Ambassador in Paraguay at that time, J. Glassman invited those who graduated in the USA to a concert of a country music group "Tim and Molly O’Brian " at the US Embassy.  To this fact it was added the unconditional support given by Mr. Mark Jacobs, at that time Director of USIS, and the invaluable contribution of the Paraguayan American Cultural Center through Mr. Peter Jones, Executive Director of the CCPA.  

Finally, after several meetings, the APPG was founded on November 24, 1993 and on April 26, 1994 the first Executive Committee was elected, with Dr. Arnaldo Acosta as Chairman, and Eng. Angel Auad as Vice-Chairman. The mission of the APPG entails promotion of:  

  • Cultural, professional and technical relations between its associates and the community.  
  • Ties with the United States through activities organized with the support of the CCPA and the Embassy of the United States in Paraguay.  
  • Qualification of human resources.  

The APPG comprises more than 180 professionals of different specialties such as:  Doctors of Medicine, Biochemists, Dentists, Psychologists, Veterinarians, Economists, Attorneys at Law, Journalists, IT Analysts, Architects and Engineers (Civil, Agricultural, Industrial, Electrical, etc.), and others, who are involved  in the private sector as well as in the public sector.  

Within the framework of the Mission defined for "acting as a catalyst for the exchange of experiences and knowledge, as well as to provide the cultural and social relationship among their associates, and society from Paraguay and the United States", from 1994 they have been developing cultural and artistic activities, forums and/or lectures about subjects of national interest with participation of national and international authorities, periodic meetings and "happy hours" for all its associates, where several subjects are addressed, and issues of civil and communitarian interest are discussed, as well as technical, philosophical and other subjects that are considered of interest and/or necessary in any of the areas of the human knowledge.